Last date modified: 2026-Sep-16
Processing
Use Relativity’s processing feature to ingest raw data directly into your workspace for eventual search, review, and production without the need for an external tool. You can use the various processing objects to create custom processing jobs that handle a wide array of information.
Some of the primary goals of processing are to:
- Discern, at an item level, exactly what data is found in a certain source.
- Record all item-level metadata as it existed prior to processing.
- Enable defensible reduction of data by selecting only items that are appropriate to move forward to review.
There are no specific security requirements, but if a user needs to be restricted from running processing, then permissions need to be revoked to all processing objects.
For a list of changes made to processing per monthly product update, see the Release Notes.
Basic processing workflow
The following steps depict a typical processing workflow that uses all available processing objects and phases. Note that each user's workflow may vary. You may not be required to follow all of these steps for every processing job you run.
- Create a Processing Set
- Entities can be created on the fly, in advance, or automatically through imports or connections to HR systems.
- Processing profiles carry over from template workspaces.
- If necessary, create new Password Bank Entries with passwords for any password-protected files to be processed.
- (Optional) Inventory files
- Inventoried files can be filtered down based on several metadata attributes prior to publish.
- Reports can be run to understand and communicate the files culled from publish.
- Discover files and Publish
- Post publish – view, ignore, or retry any errors that occurred during any phase of the processing job. If needed, republish the files.
Processing permissions
Relativity feature permissions are assigned through groups, which are then applied to workspaces, object types, tabs, and individual items. Administrators have precise control over feature actions accessible at multiple levels. To learn more, see Permissions. This section provides an overview of navigating Processing feature permissions.
To access Processing feature permissions:
- Use the search bar to navigate to Workspace Details.
- Click Manage Workspace Permissions (in the right-side column).
- Select the Features tab.
- Use the Select Group drop-down menu to select the group for which you want to view permissions. If you do not know which group to select, contact your Relativity administrator. Groups and group assignments are managed by an organization's Relativity administrator.
- Scroll down and check the box next to Processing. You can also use the search bar to jump to the Processing section.
- Click See details.
A modal appears listing the actions associated with Processing. One item to note is the Preset drop-down menu. When you select a preset, Relativity selects the actions defined for the preset. You can then add or clear actions as needed. For more information, see Presets.
To edit actions:
- Check or clear actions as needed.
- Click Review and Save. This button is only enabled if you changed action settings.
- Click Save. This button is only enabled if you changed action settings.
- Click Close to exit the screen if you did not change any settings.
Viewing granular permissions
You can view granular permissions for some actions. Granular permissions are the specific, individual access rights bundled within an action. This helps you see exactly what an action allows before you enable it. Not all actions support this level of detail.
To view granular permissions:
- Click Granular permissions mapping. The reference modal opens.

- Expand the sections for each action to view specific functionality. For example, the View Processing Errors action allows you to view job and processing errors, and determine if the Job Errors tab is visible. The Icon Guide at the bottom of the modal provides a definition for each icon.
- Click Revert All to reset permissions to the default. This button is only enabled if you changed action settings on the Actions details screen.
- Click Review and Save to continue. This button is only enabled if you changed action settings on the Actions details screen.
- Click Save to commit the permission changes.
- Click Close if you did not change any action selections.