Exporting data through Integration Points

Integration Points provides you with the ability to export data directly from your workspace through the same functionality that the Relativity Desktop Client (RDC) provides for exporting the document object. This includes exporting saved searches, case folders, and productions directly from your workspace, and scheduling future or recurrent export jobs.

Note: When you export data to a load file through Integration Points, your files get saved to a file share. To access this file share, look at the AppID in the URL of your Relativity environment and locate the EDDS folder on the file share that has the same number.

This page contains the following information:

Exporting a folder to load file

Exporting a folder and subfolders to a load file

Exporting a production to a load file

Exporting a saved search to a load file

Exporting to a Relativity workspace

Running the export job

To export your load file based on the export settings you specified above, click Run on the Transfer Options console on the saved integration point.

Note: All Integration Points jobs are fully editable after run.

Note that you also have the option of saving this integration point as a profile through the Save as Profile button on the Transfer Options console. For more information on profiles, see Integration Points profiles.

(Click to expand)

Click OK on the run confirmation message, which informs you of where your documents will be placed.

The Run button turns to red and gives you the option of stopping the job you just kicked off, as long as that job has a status of Pending or Processing.

If necessary, monitor the progress of the promote job by viewing the Status field in the Status view at the bottom of the layout. You'll see any of the following status values:

  • Pending - the job has yet to be picked up by an agent.
  • Validation - an agent is validating the job to make sure it has the required settings, such as access to the source and destination objects (saved searches, workspaces, etc.). If validation fails, the status changes to "Validation failed," and Relativity logs an error. If the validation succeeds, the job moves on to a status of "Processing."
  • Validation failed - the job validation has failed, resulting in an error, the details of which are saved in the Job History Errors tab.
  • Processing - the agent has picked up the job and is in the process of completing it.
  • Completed - the job is complete, and no errors occurred.
  • Completed with errors - the job is complete and errors have occurred. You can view error details in the Job History Errors tab. See Monitoring job history and errors for details.
  • Error - job failed - a job-level error occurred and the job didn't complete because it failed. You can view error details in the Job History Errors tab. See Monitoring job history and errors for details.
  • Stopping - you clicked the Stop button, and the stop job has yet to be picked up by an agent.
  • Stopped - the job has been stopped.

Stopping an export job

Relativity gives you the option of stopping an export job from proceeding in the event that you need to re-prioritize it or because you made a mistake when creating it. You can do so when that job has a status of Pending or Processing. To do this, click Stop on the console.

(Click to expand)

Relativity then informs you that you won't be removing any data by stopping the transfer and that you should check to make sure that the overwrite setting you previously entered is still appropriate for the re-run.

Click Stop Transfer to proceed.

  • Once Relativity stops the job, the Job Status field on the Status view reflects this.
  • Note the following about stopping an Integration Points job:

    • You can also stop a scheduled job if it has a status of Pending or Processing.
    • A job is unstoppable if it has any status other than Pending or Processing, or the point at which Relativity starts promoting documents with such as information as the user who tagged them and the source workspace.
    • When you click Stop, Relativity immediately stops creating new errors for that job.
    • When you click Stop on a run-now job, Relativity marks all errors associated with the current job history as Expired.
    • When you click Stop on a retry job, Relativity marks all errors associated with the current job history and the previous job as Expired.
    • You can start a scheduled job after you've already stopped it.
    • The item counts on the Integration Points layout reflect all items promoted before the agent received the signal to stop the job.

    To re-start a stopped job, click Run. When you do this, Relativity begins to transfer data again from the beginning but doesn't remove any data already transferred.

    Disabling an Integration Point sync

    To disable an integration point sync, simply turn off the scheduler.

    1. From the Integration Points landing page, click the Integration Point Name that you wish to disable.
    2. Click Edit.
    3. From the Import Scheduling section under Enable Scheduler, select No.This disables the scheduling mechanism for that integration point.

    Scheduler date format considerations

    The Integration Points scheduler accepts non-U.S. date formats to further accommodate, for example, users in Australia.

    In this case, the default language in your browser settings is set to English (Australian) or any other language that would display a non-U.S. date format of day/month/year instead of /month/day/year.

    Relativity then properly displays the date when you select it for the Start and End Date fields in the Scheduling category.

    This date format will also appear anywhere else in Relativity where a date is displayed, such as on the saved Integration Point Details layout and the Date Last Modified field on the Document list.