Last date modified: 2026-Sep-02
Permissions
System administrators can control access to aiR Assist per group within a workspace using Features permissions. This is helpful when different teams are responsible for different tasks, such as only using indexing or only asking questions.
Considerations
- By default, users in the System Administrator group have access to all aiR Assist permissions across all workspaces. These permissions cannot be modified. Users in the Workspace Administrator group will not automatically see aiR Assist unless their permissions are configured, as described below, or their permissions were included in the template used for the workspace.
- Feature permissions can be templatized so they carry over to new workspaces created from the template. It does not retroactively set permissions on existing workspaces.
- If Access Management is the only permission selected for a group, aiR Assist will not appear in the workspace. At least one of the other permissions must be enabled for aiR Assist to appear.
- Since document security may differ between users, aiR Assist responses to prompts are based on the documents in the index (data source) that the requesting user is permitted to access at the time of the prompt submission. See Understanding aiR Assist responses for more details.
Typical permissions scenarios
| Group | Permitted Capabilities | Index Management Permission | Prompting Permission | Conversation Export Permission | Access Management Permission | Can see aiR Assist? |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Group A |
Full aiR Assist usage:
|
Yes | Yes | Yes* | No | Yes |
| Group B |
|
Yes | No | No | No | Yes |
| Group C |
|
No | Yes | Yes* | No | Yes |
| Group D |
|
No | No | No | Yes | No |
* - Users can only export the conversations they created using Prompting.
Setting permissions
Manage permissions for this feature on the Features tab. Grant the full feature for a group, or customize access with individual actions. For an overview of features and actions, see
Use the steps below to set aiR Assist feature permissions per group within a workspace.
- Navigate to Workspace Details within the Admin tab.
- Click Manage Workspace Permissions in the Relativity Utilities console.
- Click the Features tab.
- Choose the desired group from the Selected Group list.
- Select aiR Assist under the Analysis section.

- Click See details to open the panel.
- Do one of the following for the group.
- Use a Preset persona—to use a pre-configured persona's permission settings, select it from the Preset drop-down list. Preset persona options include User, Power User, or Administrator.
- The default permissions for the persona are automatically selected in the Actions list. If needed, select additional ones from the Actions list for the chosen persona. See Available aiR Assist permissions for descriptions of each permission.
- The selected persona name will display next to the aiR Assist label under Analysis. For example, the User label displays when the User persona is selected. If no persona is selected, nothing will appear.
- Please note personas are pre-configured and new ones cannot be created.
- Set individual permissions—skip the Preset option and begin selecting permissions from the Actions list. Click the Select all box to choose all permissions listed. See Available aiR Assist permissions for descriptions of each permission.
- Use a Preset persona—to use a pre-configured persona's permission settings, select it from the Preset drop-down list. Preset persona options include User, Power User, or Administrator.
- Click Review and Save to review the unsaved changes.
- Click Save.
Available aiR Assist permissions
Below are descriptions of each permission in the Actions list.
- Access Management—select to allow group members the ability to assign and manage aiR Assist permissions for other groups in the workspace. If this is the only permission enabled for the group, aiR Assist does not appear for them.
Because this advanced setting affects group permission assignments, System Administrators should enable it only for select groups.
- Index Management—select to allow group members to use Index Manager to create, rebuild, and delete indexes and map metadata in the workspace. If this is the only permission enabled for the group, users cannot submit prompts, and they cannot start and manage conversations. For more information on Index Manager, see Index Management.
- Prompting—select to allow group members to submit prompts about documents in the workspace using created indexes and optionally use metadata for results. They can also manage their conversations through the Conversation Manager. For more information on prompting and conversation management, see Prompting and Using Conversation Manager.
- Conversation Export—select to allow group members to export their own conversation content to a Word (.docx) file. See Exporting a conversation for more information.