Last date modified: 2026-Sep-14

Setting workspace permissions

Permissions can be set based on features using the Features tab. Edit workspace permissions using the Workspace Security dialog accessible from the Workspace Details tab. Access the dialog using the following steps in a workspace:

  1. Click the Administration tab followed by Workspace Details.
  2. Click Manage Workspace Permissions in the Relativity Utilities console to open the Workspace Security dialog.
    Manage workspace permissions highlighted in Relativity Utilities options list
  3. Do any of the following:
  4. Click Revert All to undo all unsaved changes. The features return to their previous settings.
  5. Click Review and Save after modifying settings.
  6. Review the unsaved changes displayed on the Review Permissions Changes modal.
    Review Permissions Changes with features changes and granular permissions changes listed
    • Features changes—lists the features that were changed and how they were changed. Changes at the granular level may affect the status of the feature setting, so review this information carefully.
    • Granular permissions changes—lists the changes made at the granular permissions level, including those resulting from feature changes or direct edits at the granular permission level.
  7. Click Save to finalize the changes.

To add and remove groups, you must have the Edit Security permission set for the Workspace object and the Add and Delete permissions set for the Groups object (instance level security).

Group Management

The Group Management tab displays all groups added to a workspace. The following actions are available for groups added to a workspace other than System Admins:

  • View Users—displays a list of users in a group.
  • Edit Permissions—opens the Object Security tab for you to begin editing the workspace permissions for a group.
  • Copy—opens a list of groups whose permission settings you can transfer to the group. Select a group and click Copy Permissions at the bottom of the list to complete the transfer.
    Copying permissions from one group to another will cause all permissions to be overwritten. This includes item level security permissions for the target group.
    Copy group permissions
  • Preview—preview currently applied security settings for a group. See Preview Security for more information.
  • Add/Remove Groups—opens the Add/Remove Groups dialog on which you can search for and add or remove groups.
    • To add and remove groups, you must have the Edit Security permission set for the Workspace object and the Add and Delete permissions set for the Groups object (instance level security).
    • Relativity displays a warning message when a System Admin attempts to edit or copy permissions for any group in a client domain. This warning makes the System Admin aware that modifying permissions may have significant consequences. For example, changing permissions may allow client domain users to modify items outside their tenancy. The System Admin can click Manage Permissions to proceed with the update or Cancel to exit the pop-up window.

Add/Remove Groups

The Add/Remove Groups window displays the following lists:

  • Available Groups—lists available groups in your Relativity environment not yet granted access to the workspace.
  • Groups in Workspace—lists groups granted access to the workspace.
    Selecting multiple groups to add to a workspace

Adding groups to a workspace

To add one or more groups to a workspace, follow these steps:

If you are in a Workspace admin group, you must have the instance-level Edit permission to the Group object to add a group to a workspace.

  1. Click the Administration tab followed by Workspace Details.
  2. Click Manage Workspace Permissions.
  3. Click Add/Remove Groups on the Group Management tab.
  4. Select one or more groups from the Available Groups list in any order. Scroll the list or search for a specific group using the search bar.
  5. Click Add.
  6. Click Save.

Removing groups from a workspace

To remove one or more groups from a workspace, follow these steps:

  1. Click the Administration tab followed by Workspace Details.
  2. Click Manage Workspace Permissions.
  3. Click Add/Remove Groups on the Group Management tab.
  4. Select one or more groups from the Groups in Workspace list in any order. Scroll the list or search for a specific group using the search bar.
  5. Click Remove.
  6. Click Save.

Features tab

The Feature tab simplifies permission setup by reducing the number of steps needed. Instead of navigating through Object, Tab Visibility, or Admin tabs, you can enable a feature with a single action.

Each feature includes specific actions, which represent individual tasks users can perform within that feature. Granting access to actions lets you control permissions more precisely, allowing a group to perform certain tasks without providing full access to the entire feature.

A feature or action combines the required permissions drawn from the other three tabs. When you enable a feature, all associated permissions activate automatically. For an overview of features and actions, seeFeature permissions, Feature actions.

Considerations

Feature and granular permission settings affect each other. The effect depends on whether the feature is modernized. For the rules and examples, seeFeature permissions.

Using the Features tab

The Features tab lists the features available for the selected group. You can do the following from this tab:

  • Use the Search bar to find a feature in the list.
  • Select the checkbox next to a feature to grant access to it.
  • Click See details to open a panel for the feature. From the panel you can select a preset, select individual actions, and open the granular permissions mapping.

For an explanation of features, actions, presets, and feature states, seeFeature permissions.

Features tab showing See Details panel for Imaging

Frequently asked questions

Granular permissions

Saving permissions for a group

In the Workspace Security dialog you can switch between the Object Security, Tab Visibility, and Other Settings tabs before saving modified security permissions for a selected group. If you modify security settings on any of these three tabs, and try to close the dialog or click the Group Management tab, Relativity prompts you with the following options:

  • Save—saves all permissions changes and applies them to the selected group.
  • Revert—discards all unsaved permissions changes and reverts to the group's last saved permissions.
  • Cancel—cancels the attempted dialog close or tab change action.

After making security changes on the Object Security, Tab Visibility, and Other Settings tabs, click Save at any time to apply the selected permissions settings.

Feedback