Last date modified: 2026-Aug-05
Managing batched queues (Advanced Access)
The functionality described in this
Administrators can use the Review Center dashboard to monitor progress, assign batches, and add or remove documents.
See these related pages:
- Batching in Review Center (Advanced Access)
- Creating a batched queue (Advanced Access)
- Checking out batches (Advanced Access)
Monitoring queues
To monitor a batched queue:
- Use the Review Center tab as a dashboard to view progress reports, charts, and queue status. For more information, see Monitoring a Review Center queue.
- The All Documents table shows both reviewed and unreviewed documents. Within it, the Batch Number column shows which batch each document belongs to. You can filter the table by batch, reviewer, coding decision, and more.
- For assigning, unassigning, and viewing the status of each batch, use the Batches table at the bottom of the Review Center dashboard. This is part of the same panel as the All Documents table, and you can select one or the other by clicking the blue arrow next to the table name.
How queue refreshes affect batching
- If you have auto-refresh turned on, refreshes happen every 15 minutes when there is coding activity in the queue. If auto-refresh is turned off, refreshes happen when you click Refresh Queue. For more details, see Preparing or refreshing the queue.
- Refreshing the queue re-runs the saved search and groups any added documents into new batches, If any documents were removed from the saved search, it also removes those documents from previously created batches. Removed documents that were already coded will still be listed in the All Documents and Batches tables, but will not be counted in other dashboard statistics.
- If you have a Minimum Batch Size set, batches created during an auto-refresh respect that minimum. If you refresh manually, you can choose whether to create a batch smaller than the minimum.
Adding or removing documents
To add, remove, and batch out new documents:
- Add any new documents to the saved search that you selected as the queue’s data source.
- Click to refresh the queue. If you have auto-refresh turned on, the button will say Auto Refresh. If it is turned off, it will say Refresh Queue.
- In the confirmation modal, select or leave blank the following:
- Ignore batch minimum—this creates a small batch of any remaining documents that are smaller than the minimum batch size. For example, if you added 703 documents and have a normal batch size of 100, this would create seven 100-document batches and a 3-document batch.
- Click Confirm.
If new batches were created, you can assign them using the same method as the initial batches. For more information, see Managing batched queues (Advanced Access).
Deleting batches
If you decide you no longer want to use batching, or if you want to re-batch all documents at the same time, you can delete the existing batches. The documents within the batches are unaffected, and you can create new batches from them by refreshing the queue. This is similar to the Purge Batches action from standard review.
To delete all existing batches for a queue:
- Pause the queue.
- On the Review Center dashboard, click the three-dot menu at the right side of the Queue Summary section.
- Select Delete Batches. A confirmation modal appears.
- Click Delete Batches.
- If it succeeds, the Batches table will no longer show any batches.
- If an error message appears, check that the queue has been paused, then retry.
If you want to create new batches, refresh the queue.